Not-So-Smart Phones

Looking to get untethered from my home computer, I recently made the plunge into smart phone world.  I guess I’ve come full circle, from being an early adopter with a phone in my car when they were rare, to a Luddite with no cell phone at all, and now back again.

After a weekend with the online help, I put my trading and email apps on the new phone, and even figured out how to use it hands-free in my car after the dealer failed.

Today, I got a ton of returned, undelivered e-mails, all of which had a link that claimed to be a Fox News investment article.

DON’T TOUCH THAT LINK!

Some of you have contacted me using the feedback feature, and if we’ve had correspondence, you were added to my yahoo address book.  My apologies for the spam, especially if you infected your own computer by hitting the link.

I was truly impressed with the coordination of the people who hacked my yahoo email this morning.  In a period of less than ten minutes, they managed to log onto my email from Indonesia, Brazil and Nicaragua.

So here’s my advice…. after changing passwords and putting extra security questions in place, I decided to disable all mobile phone logins for that account when Yahoo sent my new mobile phone a text about resetting permissions, and it never got to my new phone.

Be careful out there.

hh

3 Responses to Not-So-Smart Phones

  1. I can see the benefit of hands-free, but don’t become a tool of the smart-ass phone set.

  2. Conscience of a Conservative says:

    Howard, Strikes me when one considers the monthly bills associated with Smart Phones that approach the monthly combined phone, cable and internet bills we pay for at home, the smart phones are anything but. $90 a month in many cases, much more if you have a family plan. It’s absurd.

  3. Jill says:

    More losses to come for Fannie/Freddie…

    Fannie/Freddie To Allow Walkaways by On-Time Borrowers: Mortgages

    “Fannie Mae (FNMA) and Freddie Mac will let some borrowers who kept up payments as their homes lost value erase their debts by giving up the properties, helping Americans escape underwater loans while adding to losses at the mortgage giants bailed out with $190 billion of taxpayer money.”

    “Non-delinquent borrowers with illness, job changes or other reasons they need to move will become eligible in March to apply for a so-called deed-in-lieu transaction that erases the shortfall between a property’s value and the size of its mortgage.”

    http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2013-01-28/fannie-adds-bailout-for-underwaters-walkaways-mortgages.html

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 421 other followers

