Double Dip? ECRI at the Crossroads

July 22, 2010

Economic Cycle Research Institute’s leading economic indicators have been a matter of spirited debate the last couple of weeks, because it looks like they are on the verge of calling a double dip recession. Yet no word from ECRI, as the pressure increases for them to make a call. The interest in their stance on the economy is compounded by their correct call for an end to this past recession at the depth of the crisis last year.

First let’s clear up some misinformation about ECRIs leading index, known as WLI.

Read the rest of this entry »


Lottery Tickets and Calculated Risk

July 22, 2010

I was very disappointed in my lottery tickets the past few days.  I haven’t talked about them simply because I didn’t want to encourage anyone else to risk their money on this long shot.

On the other hand, I’ve been upfront with my calculated risk, and today it looks like it might be paying off.

Further discussion of the two stocks after the break.

Read the rest of this entry »


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 427 other followers